Skip to content

The mysterious bit – Part 2

29/11/2014

You may have asked yourself what THIS was all about:

© aNadventures

© aNadventures

Well, it’s time to unveil the mystery. As you may have noticed, food plays quite an important role in Turkish everyday life. People gather over food (and çay!) to discuss all sorts of matters. It’s just in the center of the culture. And that’s great!

Every region has its own traditional meals. I was lucky to try many of them first hand throughout my Turkey Travels. One of my trips led me to İnegöl near Bursa. The town is famous for its köfte (meatballs). To my surprise, as we were arriving, my friend pointed this out to me:

© aNadventures

© aNadventures

I had to pinch myself to make sure I wasn’t dreaming. There actually was a statue of a fork holding a meat ball right in the center of the motor way. Oh well, there’s a little mermaid statue in Copenhagen and a large green statue of a girl in a night robe holding a torch in New York City, so why shouldn’t there be a meat ball statue in İnegöl, Turkey? Honestly, I think this is the coolest statue I’ve ever come across. That’s why I couldn’t stop staring at it and I took lots of pictures. I just had to share it with all of you, so that’s what the fuss was about.

I think there are a fig statue in Aydın and a peanut statue in Gaziantep which I will have to go and see on the occasion of my next Turkey trip.

What’s the coolest statue YOU have ever come across?

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reviewing NaBloPoMo 2014 | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

