Skip to content

Unrush your world: A marketing approach embraced by Turkey’s Yeni Rakı brand

19/03/2015

When I first came across this advertisement poster in Berlin’s district of Kreuzberg, it made me smile:

© aNadventures

© aNadventures

There it was, rakı, Turkey’s traditional alcoholic drink, being branded as a beverage to be enjoyed among friends to escape the fast pace of today’s daily routine: Slow is our luxury. I was smiling because I recognized a pattern in contemporary advertisement appealing to the consumers’ desire to slow down, to enjoy every moment to the fullest and to be among peers.

Having lived in Turkey myself for a considerable amount of time, I found the spirit of unrushing one’s world and sharing fitting to the Turkish way of life. I was surprised to find it paired with an alcoholic product, though. This was my first reaction to Yeni Rakı’s new marketing campaign.

In the course of the last few weeks, I started to notice the advertisement more and more scattered across Berlin announcing the Spirit of Istanbul festival which was to take place in Kreuzberg on March 14th.

© aNadventures

© aNadventures

I was curious to see what it was all about so I joined the party. The Spirit of Istanbul can be described as a large marketing and PR event organized around the Yeni Rakı brand. The entry to the festival was free of charge. There was a stage programme featuring music bands and DJs. Traditional street food and rakı was sold on various stands. The anis drink is mixed with water and ice cubes and traditionally served with meze (warm and cold appetizers). A huge area with banks and tables invited the visitors to sit and enjoy their meals and drinks while chatting away to old and new friends. The space was brightly illuminated and the white light created a relaxed environment. People were cheery and peaceful. In the background, there were monitors mutely picturing the preparation of all sorts of meze to accompany a glass of rakı. What particularly caught my attention was the special design of the Yeni Rakı glasses featuring the brand’s three rules:

© aNadventures

© aNadventures

These glasses could be purchased at the exit of the festival alongside with other Yeni Rakı merchandise. I took all three rules home. This makes me reflect upon my initial hesitation to accept the brand’s new slogan. I now seem to have created a connection with the brand through having personally “unrushed my world” at the festival. That’s how successful marketing works: Creating experiences and interacting with consumers so the brand’s unique message will remain in their minds and souls.

Have YOU made any experiences similar to mine? How do you react to advertisements and marketing campaigns in your environment?

From → Random

One Comment
  1. Wow! I seemed to have missed this one. Like I do with most advertisments. I’m a bit oblivious to them most of them time unless it’s something really out of the ordinary. But I like their slogan for sure

Leave a Reply

