Skip to content

Poutine

18/11/2015
© aNadventures

© aNadventures

I’ve been craving a poutine lately. This is a Canadian dish, originally from the French speaking province of Quebec. The first time I ever had this meal was back in 2003 when I was living with a host family in Joliette, near Montreal.

“You’ve got to try a poutine, it’s our traditional dish. It consists of French fries topped with curd cheese and gravy sauce.“, I was told. Sounds interesting, I thought. Then I was served this massive brownish pile of food which quite frankly looked disgusting. However, I was hooked after the second bite. With poutines it’s like with cats: Either you love them or you hate them.

The special thing about the cheese is that it’s all squeaky when you chew it. In Quebec, poutine is served as a side dish to burgers, club sandwiches and the like. It’s also the ideal food to have after a night out clubbing (like the famous kebab in Berlin). Many fast food chains such as Mc Donald’s, Burger King, Wendy’s, KFC as well as all sorts of local restaurants sell it.

Upon my return to Quebec last year, my friends took me to a place in Montreal called Poutine Ville. There you can create your very own poutine out of a list of ingredients. You can choose your preferred type of potatoes, cheese and sauce and add some vegetables and meat as well. All you have to do is select your choices on a list that you are handed with the menu. Then they’ll prepare your customized poutine.

I had mashed potatoes with Swiss cheese, mushrooms, dark olives, cooked red peppers, smoked meat and the traditional poutine sauce. See for yourselves:

Yummy! And that was just the regular size. I didn’t even order a large one.

How about YOUR cravings? Is there any meal you love that doesn’t look particularly tasty at first sight?

8 Comments
  1. Hmmmm I’d say I’m always craving hummus. I wouldn’t say it looks bad (it looks like heaven to me) but some people say that it’s not exactly pretty – but then I like experimenting and have made green hummus before.

  2. I’ve always wanted to try this!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reviewing NaBloPoMo 2015 | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

