Skip to content

Same old love: Berlin in April

18/06/2017
Still chasin' rainbows in Berlin.

© aNadventures

April 30th 2017: I woke up noticing it was the last day of the month. According to the mission I set myself on New Year’s Eve, I would choose to travel somewhere near or far at least once a month. I considered my options for the day: I could still make it over to Poland and spend the day there. Or at least have a coffee right across the border. But I had already arranged to meet a friend for breakfast. So here’s what I did instead:

After enjoying a delicious Turkish breakfast and catching up with my friend who I hadn’t seen in quite a while, I decided to go for a walk in the area of Kreuzberg. I found a tiny flea market near Bergmannstraße and ended up in a conversation with an earring vendor from Turkey. Of course I couldn’t resist purchasing a pair.

 

As I continued walking, I soon found myself in the Volkspark Hasenheide which I had not yet explored in previous years. I took advantage of the fact that it was one of the first warm and sunny days of the year to walk around, people watch and simply set one foot after the other without knowing where the next step would end up taking me. I came across plenty of drug dealers who were leaning on trees or quite openly selling their “merchandise” behind the bushes. There were musicians sitting in the grass and practicing as well as families playing with their kids. I even found a little petting zoo.

 

Once my feet were at it, they simply wouldn’t stop. I ended up at Hermannplatz, in the district of Neukölln, and turned north. I soon reached Maybachufer where there was another flea and artisanal market just next to the river bank. Again, I found myself chatting with an earring vendor. One thing led to the next and I happily wandered off with my second pair of earrings in just one day. I continued bordering the river bank and eventually crossed to the other side. My feet needed some rest now and I found a bench to sit, read and people watch. Eventually, a group of girls joined me and I couldn’t help but listen to their conversation. Half an hour later we were the best of friends. We even teamed up to go find a restroom in a nearby café.

Mauerpark, Berlin.

© aNadventures

When I continued my walk, I bordered another park, Görlitzer Park. This time, I got on the metro towards Ebersfelderstraße, in the district of Prenzlauer Berg, where I met up with two more friends. We grabbed a kebab and strolled down to Mauerpark where we sat, ate and chatted away amongst the crowd of other people who were out enjoying the splendid weather. We even waited patiently for the kids to be done before pouncing on the popular swings up on the hill. Afterwards, we made it to a nearby café to have some waffles topped with ice cream ― the perfect end to a fabulous day.

Vacation from everyday life.

© aNadventures

I’m glad I decided to stay in Berlin that day. While wandering around and exploring old and new places in my city, I experienced a profound feeling of happiness ― the kind of feeling that makes your heart beat that little bit faster. I was once more reminded of why I chose to live here and felt love and peace at heart. I decided to make this kind of explorations more often, to enjoy each moment to the fullest and to simply see where my feet and soul end up taking me.

How about YOU? Which place are you in love with?

From → Random

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 5th aNaversary: How my life has changed | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

