Skip to content

Turkey: Still my cherry on top

28/07/2016
2012-08-13 19.27.21

© aNadventures

Tomorrow, it will have been four years since I first set foot on Turkish ground. On the 29th of July, 2012 I took off to Istanbul to attend a Turkish language course before starting my 1.5-year Turkey experience in Izmir.

I can’t believe it’s been four years already since it all began. So much happened during my stay in Turkey. And so much has happened ever since. I mentioned the classification of my life into before Turkey, throughout Turkey and after Turkey here. But no matter how much time has passed, Turkey continues to be present in my thoughts and in my everyday life. Just today, as I cycled home from work, I passed a sign that said “bisiklet girmez” (~ no bikes allowed). It’s definitely something special to live in Berlin (also known as Little Istanbul). This way, I’m reminded of many aspects of the Turkish culture on a daily basis. This includes the language, of course.

Many of the things I learnt from living in Turkey have shaped part of who I am today. I notice that the memories have started to fade a little and that I mention Turkey less frequently in conversations nowadays. Let’s put it this way: I’m not going “in Turkey, in Turkey, in Turkey…” as often as two years ago, anymore. Yet, part of me still very much longs for the summer nights strolling around Kordon or for sipping tea and playing tavla or simply sitting with friends. I miss the little random chats at the bakery, the lively shouts at the local pazar, taking the ferry boat and throwing out bread crumbs to the seagulls. Turkey is a beautiful place. It has been so kind to me. It remains my cherry on top.

For more interpretations of Cherry on top have a look here.

 

From → Photos

2 Comments
  1. İzmir is waiting for you 😀

Leave a Reply

