Skip to content

Pizza: From Italy to the world

24/04/2016

Pizza is one of Italy’s most famous culinary products. It’s an important symbol of the country. Last month, I randomly heard about Italy nominating its traditional Neapolitan pizza to be included on the UNESCO cultural heritage list. A few days later, I travelled to Naples myself and was served one of the best pizzas I’ve had so far. Food wasn’t the sole purpose of my trip, though a very important one.

Pizza @Rosati in Naples.

© aNadventures

The Neapolitan pizza has a thin crust, except for its fluffy rim. It’s prepared in a wood-burning brick oven. Pizza Marinara and Pizza Margherita are the most famous ones. The first one is topped with tomato, garlic, oregano and oil. The second one has the colours of the Italian flag, its toppings being tomato, mozzarella, oil and basil.

It’s said that the pizza Margherita was created at the end of the nineteenth century in honour of Queen Margherita when she visited Naples.

Regardless of whether pizza makes it onto the UNESCO list or not, it has already found its way into my heart a long time ago ―and into the hearts of millions of others as well.

Turkish coffee is already on the list, by the way.

If you could opt for a dish to be placed on the UNESCO cultural heritage list (or on your very personal top foods list), which one would that be?

7 Comments
  1. When I went to Italy during my teenage years I didn’t like the pizza hahaha. Because it wasn’t what I grew up with! But I think now that I have a more informed palate I’d like it much better

  2. Hey Ana, it would be Kashmiri Wazawan that I would love to place on UNESCO cultural heritage list 🙂

  3. Dear La Semaine, thanks for stopping by. Oh wow, I just googled Kashmiri Wazawan and it looks delicious! Thank you so much for pointing it out. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mission completed | aNadventures
  2. 12 things I learnt throughout 2016 | aNadventures
  3. Best pizza across Berlin: A selection | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

