Skip to content

Turkish Daylights: Dates in your wallet

12/11/2015
© aNadventures

© aNadventures

Cleaning out my closet, I just recently came accross the red little travel wallet my grandma gave me. I opened it and found a decent amount of Turkish money I had left after returning from my 1.5-year Turkey adventure. Amidst the bank notes showing Atatürk and amidst multiple kuruş (~cent pieces), I found something else: The dried stone of a date.

That date wasn’t just any date. I remember my hair dresser, back in Izmir, offering it to me. Her aunt had made a pilgrimage to Mecca and brought home many of these dates. Not only were they particularly yummy, I was also told that if you keep the stone of a date that originally came from Mecca in your wallet, you won’t have to worry about money anymore. Apparently it will just multiply. This may actually be true. I don’t remember there having been so much Turkish money left in my red little wallet. Oh well, I’ll just have to return to my favourite pazar over there in order to spend it.

7 Comments
  1. What a sweet story, thanks for sharing. 🙂
    I love dates!!!

  2. First time I’ve heard about this!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reviewing NaBloPoMo 2015 | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

