Skip to content

Treats from my kitchen

04/11/2015

When I lived in Turkey there was hardly any need for me to cook. I was spoiled by my super chef of a flat mate or grabbed a bite or two from my beloved çiğ köfte place. Trust me, there’s affordable food on every corner so you won’t be hungry for long in Turkey. I think I cooked five times in 1.5 years. At most. I told you I was spoiled…

Upon my return to Berlin things were a bit different. I had to get used to cooking by myself once again. So I started digging into my memory for the comfort recipes I remembered from my life BT (Before Turkey). I also started experimenting with new ones, many of them based on Turkish dishes.

Not only the eating but also the cooking process became a kind of treat for me. It all started with making up my mind about what to cook, followed by purchasing the necessary ingredients, getting my hands on the actual dish and thus preparing my very own home-made meals. I also enjoyed creating new dishes out of leftovers or random ingredients I still had at home. I started perceiving cooking as meditation instead of it just being something I had to do in order to nourish myself.

Here’s a selection of what I’ve been treating myself to foodwise ever since the beginning of my life AT (After Turkey):

How about YOU? What recipes do you like best? Do you consider cooking and/or food a treat?

For other interpretations of Treat have a look here.

 

From → Photos

12 Comments
  1. Oh yum!!! Do I spy some (a lot of) kısır? Hands down my favourite food

    • Yup, definitely also one of my favourites. It’s delicious and yet so easy to prepare. Feel free to drop me a line if you need the recipe. 😉

  2. NAUJ permalink

    Wow, your food sure looks delicious. You are a great cook! Truly mouth watering. You seem like the type of person that would gladly share her food with friends and – of course – family. Or as the saying goes “Family first” 🙂 …

  3. Lovely looking couscous, mushrooms, fresh, spinach, chickpeas – you are quite the chef.
    I have so many favorite dishes that I love to make: Lamb Shanks with Moroccan-Style Sauce, Curried Chicken, Pasta Bolonese, Shrimp Scampi – I’m hungry now.

    • Thank you! I feel flattered. Your suggestions sound fantastic as well, though. You got me hungry here, too.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reviewing NaBloPoMo 2015 | aNadventures
  2. 20 ways to enjoy unemployment | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

