Skip to content

Taking the ferry boat in Izmir: An (extra)ordinary experience

21/10/2015
© aNadventures

© aNadventures

When I read about this week’s Photo Challenge, I instantly liked the theme. Often the little ordinary things are the most special ones in our lives.

As you may know from my previous posts and tales, I have very fond memories of the time I spent living in Izmir, Turkey. One of the many little things I particularly enjoyed was taking the feribot (ferry boat) connecting multiple parts of the city. In Izmir and Istanbul this is just another means of transportation, an alternative to the bus or metro. For me, it was a little adventure every time I boarded it.

Taking the ferry to get to work was something I enjoyed very much. Even though it became a routine, it never stopped being special. I would sit in the back having the morning breeze caress my cheeks, watching the waves and the sea gulls dance in the wind. I would sip my freshly squeezed orange juice (available on the boat) and just enjoy the extraordinary moment.

What extraordinary moments are YOU particularly fond of? Feel free to share them in the comment section. For other interpretations of (extra)ordinary, have a look here.

From → Photos

Leave a Reply

