Skip to content

October Travels: Who is Lorna?

11/11/2014

Throughout the month of October I spent considerable time writing my final thesis. Never before had I been to the joint university library of the TU (Technische Universität / Technical University) and the UdK (Universität der Künste / University of the Arts) here in Berlin. So that was my place to explore last month.

The atmosphere is quite inspiring as there is hardly any noise and everyone seems to be studying plus it’s grey and “sterile” so there’s little room for distraction. Just me, my sources and the gradually filling computer screen. Of course I found myself a cozy corner from where to people watch and have a good view on the clock in order to not miss my lunch breaks.

© aNadventures

© aNadventures

One of the first things that struck me upon settling in that library building was the inner inscription: “Lorna in Liebe gewidmet” (Dedicated to Lorna with love) it says in large silvery letters adorning each storey.

I couldn’t help but wonder who Lorna might be. Some others have been asking themselves the same question, as I have found out on Google. Apparently the caption symbolizes one of the many inhabitants of a library: quotes, foot notes, dedications.

While staring at the inscription one of those library days, I came up with a few ideas for the identity of mysterious Lorna:

  1. Maybe she’s [I assume it’s a female] the wife of a writer who fell ill and he wanted to thank her for having supported him on the bumpy road towards the completion of his master piece.
  2. She might as well be a story-telling grandma having inspired the writer to take up the pen himself.
  3. Or an action figure that healed an author from writer’s block.

Whoever Lorna may be, she’s well accompanied by the many visitors of the library who all, at some point, might have asked themselves: Who is Lorna?

 

Where can you concentrate best? At the library? At home? Anywhere else? And who else do you think the mysterious Lorna might be?

From → Random

6 Comments
  1. The architect’s wife?

  2. Annie permalink

    i know her ❤

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2014 Travel Wrap Up | aNadventures
  2. Reviewing NaBloPoMo 2014 | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

