Skip to content

My Turkish room

12/06/2014
© aNadventures

© aNadventures

 

I’m sharing a picture of my room in Izmir. My main Turkish room. The room I spent most of my nights in during my one and a half year adventure.

When my flat mates and I moved in, they offered me that room because it already had a huge wardrobe and they knew I didn’t have any furniture. We got to share the space in it since my belongings were scarce. That was before I discovered the weekly bazaar…

The bed, the table and a chair were purchased at second hand. That’s all I needed to feel at home. I used this room as a base for my explorations of a wonderful country and most importantly the journey through my inner self.

Whenever I needed some quiet time to clear my thoughts I would retreat within those four walls. This room also hosted my guests on multiple occasions. This room turned into a hamam (Turkish sauna) during the hot summer months. This room witnessed some of my happiest and saddest times. The spot on the carpet next to the bed is where our puppy would lie and keep me company while I was reading or working on the computer. This room is where I dried my laundry. This room is where I studied. This room is where I wrote. I was often woken by the sound of the tavla dices coming from the lottery place downstairs where the amcas (uncles / old guys) would sit all day. Sometimes the smell of delicious home-made food would reach me through the open window as well. I experienced my first (and hopefully last) earthquake in this room.

 

© aNadventures

© aNadventures

 

This room has been one of many stations in my life so far. When leaving it I did feel a bit nostalgic but I was also excited about the new adventures lying ahead. Isn’t there an expression stating that it’s always best to leave when things are at their best? Well, my Turkish room certainly surpassed my expectations. Thank you, room. Thank you, Turkey.

For more interpretations of “Room“, have a look at this week’s Photo Challenge.

4 Comments
  1. Wow, what a great experience. Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Thanks for passing by. I’m enjoying your blog as well. Hope to see you around again. 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Live long and wear it with a smile | aNadventures
  2. Just typing | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

