Skip to content

Chocolization

22/01/2013

© aNadventures

Do you enjoy visiting supermarkets in foreign countries? I do! Whenever I stroll down the aisles of the local supermarkets, I get all excited. So many different products to prepare different dishes! But it is often astonishing how many brands and products are alike among countries. This is when globalization becomes truly perceptible, tangible and “tasteable”.

Especially the chocolate isle has caught my attention recently. Next to many kinds of Turkish brands such as Ülker and Eti, I found my beloved Milka bars. I was curious to see if there were any local adaptations (localizations) so I compared the available variations. The traditional Alpine Milk Chocolate one was the same, followed by the Hazelnut and the Strawberry one. I also spotted a Raisin Hazelnut one. Their packages have been translated into Turkish.

Recently, I have come across my favorite, the Milka Oreo one. It is not available in all supermarkets; I have checked. But thankfully it is sold at my local supermarket which is within a seven minute walking distance. What is striking is that this one’s packaging has not been translated. It is the exact German product with a simple white sticker at the back stating relevant product information in Turkish such as the ingredients. I was also curious to see if I could find any flavor that was not available in Germany. And I found it. It is called Milka Bonibon and it contains the Turkish equivalent of Smarties or m&m’s. This one’s complete packaging is in Turkish.

What instantly struck me when picking it up was that it felt much lighter and somehow thinner. So I grabbed the Milka Oreo bar for comparison. And guess what? The Milka Oreo one is thicker and weighs the regular 100g whereas the Milka Bonibon bar is thinner and therefore only weighs 80g. I wonder about that 20g difference.

© aNadventures

I had to purchase them, of course, for research purposes.

If you have made similar chocolate experiences in other countries, feel free to share your observations. I am always curious about chocolization.

13 Comments
  1. I had the very same experience when living in Prague! Even as an American, I must say: I did not miss Snickers bars in the least – not with Studentská Pečeť on the shelves. I became attached to many other everyday items, too: laundry detergent, for example. Sadly, no Lenor here in the U.S., so my laundry no longer has that lovely scent.
    An enjoyable read – thanks!

  2. Prague! How nice! And I know Studentská Pečeť, it is great! Yes, it is funny how you get attached to new products and customs. So, no Lenor in the US, interesting. I hope you found a good substitute. Thanks for passing by!

  3. I recently been to Migros in my area and was very surprised to discover Milka Oreo too! I was so excited and ate the whole thing with greed.

  4. I love Milka!! I have never seen Milka Oreo though, but it sounds incredible. I think it’s interesting how the UK Cadbury brand and the US Hershey brand don’t seem to have mingled and tempted chocolate tasters on the opposite side of the pond. In the end just give me a plate Reeces peanut butter cake or a butterfinger and I will be smiling!! 😉 happy weekend

    • No Milka Oreo? So sorry to read this. But yeah, maybe these combinations just don’t work all over the place. I’m also surprised Magnum ice cream didn’t enter the US market until recently (2011).
      I’m reassured you got alternatives to keep you happy. 😉
      Sweet Sunday to you, too!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Turkey Wrap Up 2012 « aNadventures
  2. Weekly Writing Challenge: Haiku Catchoo! | aNadventures
  3. A step at a time | aNadventures
  4. Thank you! – Danke! – ¡Gracias! – Merci! – Teşekkürler! | aNadventures
  5. Ramazan Challenge Vol. 3 | aNadventures
  6. 13 reasons to love autumn | aNadventures
  7. When I write | aNadventures

Leave a Reply

